MO Soybean Assoc. & Merch. Council Annual Competition Results Now Finalized

   Missouri soybean farmers brought big yields for the Missouri Soybean Association’s annual competition. Results from the Missouri Soybean Association and Merchandising Council’s annual competition are now finalized with the highest yields well above 90 bushels per acre.
   Top honors go to Thomas White III, of Norborne, who nearly doubled Missouri’s statewide soybean average. White’s 96.5 bushel per acre yield came through conventional tillage practices and without irrigation using Pioneer P45T48R soybean seeds. For irrigated soybeans, Ethan Stenger of Liberal led with 96.3 bushels per acre using Asgrow AG3832 seed.
   “It is outstanding to see growers come together for friendly competition and continuous improvement through the annual yield contest,” said Matt McCrate, a southeast Missouri farmer and president of the Missouri Soybean Association. “Stewardship and efficiency are key to success on the farm, and our winners demonstrate innovation and commitment to those keys in reaching these high yields. Congratulations to all our participants in the 2016 soybean yield contest and to the growers statewide who continue to raise the bar.”
   The Missouri Soybean Association’s yield contest is made possible by generous contributions from the Missouri Soybean Merchandising Council and soybean checkoff, Asgrow, Baker Implement Company, Beck’s Hybrids, Lewis Hybrids, Merschman Seeds, Missouri Crop Improvement Association, NuTech Seed, DuPont Pioneer, and Sydenstricker John Deere.
   Winners will be recognized at district soybean meetings in early 2017, with the statewide winners recognized during the Missouri Soybean Association annual meeting in Jefferson City at the end of January. Winners are listed, along with the seed variety used to reach their top-tier yields. ∆
MidAmerica Farm Publications, Inc
Powered by Element74 Web Design